Friday 23 August 2013

Sitcom Trials SYTYWF 2013 - the winner is...

Photo ©2013 Steve Ullathrone

The first ever Sitcom Trials So You Think You Write Funny final was held at the Gilded Balloon on the Edinburgh Fringe on Wednesday August 21st 2013. Five situation comedies, the finalists from 6 heats and two semi finals in Manchester, Bristol and London, competed head to head in a competition compered by Mark Dolan and produced by Sitcom Trials creator Kev F Sutherland.

And the winner is Rosie Holt (pictured above with her cast) the writer and star of the sitcom Never Better. Her prize is the offer a month long run of her developed sitcom as a show at the Gilded Balloon at the Edinburgh Fringe 2014. The Gilded Balloon will also be working with Rosie on the TV development of her sitcom.

The judges who chose the winner were Sanjeev Kohli (writer & star of Fags, Mags & Bags), Jemma Rodgers (producer of Vicious and How Not To Live Your Life), and Karen Koren (boss of the Gilded Balloon and creator of So You Think You're Funny).

The audience also voted as part of the show, choosing their favourite, the ending of which they were treated to (under the time-honoured Sitcom Trials format). The audience chose to see the ending of Cast by Peter Etherington, with Never Better coming second, and Situation Normal by Naomi Carter coming a close third.

The 5 sitcoms in the final were
Theatre by Andrew Tate
None Of The Above written by and co-starring Lewis Cook
Never Better written by and co-starring Rosie Holt
Situation Normal written by and co-starring Naomi Carter
Cast by Peter Etherington

Congratulations to all the writers, directors and performers who took part and who reached this stage of the competition. Stay tuned for news of The Sitcom Trials forthcoming shows and competitions and how budding writers and performers can become involved.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...